Cover Reveal: Strange and Sundry Magics, by Cal Black

Welcome to a new cover reveal!

Today we have the pleasure of help host the cover reveal of Strange and Sundry Magics, a new book by the talented author and friend Cal Black. 

Strange and Sundry Magics is a whimsical adventure fantasy for fans of Howl’s Moving Castle, Legends and Lattes, and the Tiffany Aching series. Ghibli-like magic infuses a world full of memorable characters that both help and hinder our wayward heroes as they learn how to be a different kind of hero.

Let's take a look at the blurb:

When the witch Velta Quorrie finds the skeleton of the King’s Champion in her swamp, her plans of a quiet life studying magical plants are uprooted. The kingdom of Malka will fall to a dark invasion if there is no Champion to defend them. An ancient prophecy says so. Velta might not believe in prophecies, but the ghost of the Champion, Berrick, sure does. He won’t leave her alone until he’s certain the kingdom will be safe. 

To Velta, the answer is easy: the king just needs to name a new Champion. When he does, no one is more surprised than Velta when the King chooses her. Now she and Berrick have to figure out how to be a hero using brains instead of brawn.

* * * * *

You can add this book to Goodreads, and get more info on the page of Bearberry Studio. It is scheduled to be released on ebook on May 2024; with the physical coming during summer 2024.

The cover has been illustrated by Madeleine Noonie Barker (here's her Artstation) and the design has been finalized by the own Cal Black. 

Strange and Sundry Magic, by Cal Black (art Madeleine Noonie Barker)Strange and Sundry Magic, by Cal Black (art Madeleine Noonie Barker)

In this post:

Cal Black

Cal Black

Cal Black is a Canadian writer based in Ontario who enjoys writing about messy people who make an effort to improve their situation. Cal was a contributor to the Advent of Winter anthology, a Finalist in the SFINCS novella contest, and is the author of the Legends & Legacies series. Cal writes gaslamp fantasy, cosmic fantasy, and has a bad habit of ‘trying out new genres’ when already full up on projects.